This is a statement lipstick. Worn alone it’s vibrant and daring – but with a gloss, it really comes to life and makes lips look devilishly juicy. The first photo is the lipstick without gloss, the second with. Application is butter-smooth and the formula is lightweight, creamy and comfortable on the lips, not waxy or dry. If you want super staying power, apply, blot with a tissue, and repeat (three times). You could easily tone down the pigment if you dabbed it on gently with a finger.

This is my first YSL lipstick and I don’t know why – well, I do, because it’s extortionately priced! – but I haven’t seen another coral as bold and bang-on for summer as this. And the formula wears so beautifully. And the packaging is old Hollywood glamorous. For reference, I have NC20 skin. I wore Givenchy’s Gelee D’Interdit Gloss Balm in no.9 Neon Orange over this lipstick, but any gloss loaded with gold sparkle would made it pop. Go get this. Now.

I hereby proclaim this lipstick a HERO

The Skinny: A must-have bright and bold lipstick for summer. Creamy texture, long wear and glamorous packaging. Hefty price tag – but worth it for such a unique shade.

Cost: 

UK: £23 from Boots

USA: $34 from Sephora

Rating: HERO (goes above and beyond expectations)

