Product Description: These are peel and apply nail strips that require no drying time and are supposed to last up to 10 days

My Experience: I loved the idea because although I’m fond of nail polish, I don’t use it much because I’m atrocious at painting my stubby little nails. If I use red it looks like I’ve had a horrible mishap with scissors. I’ve also never been able to get through 4 days without some kind of chipping, so the idea of stick-on nails that come in amazing colors and prints that last up to 10 days sent me into fits of hysteric happiness. Almost. Anyway, the kit comes with a little file, cuticle stick and polish strips in various sizes. There are a few extras in case you make a mistake. You’re instructed to select the best fitting strip for each nail, remove the protective plastic cover and peel it from the backing paper before sticking it to your nail. The strips are a bit stretchy. You need to gently pull them over the edges of the nail and then press down to make sure they’re stuck good and fast. Easy enough. However, it took me a while to get the hang of the next step. The nail strips are longer than your nail by about an inch and you’re supposed to remove the excess with the file they’ve provided. My file was too soft to do this, so after some frustration I figured out the easiest way was to tear the excess away from the edges of the nail myself. You need to pull gently downwards after the strip is snug around the nail and you’ll find it stretches until it tears away. My first hand took about half an hour due to mistakes. The second hand took about ten minutes which, believe me, is way quicker than it would have taken me to paint them (from base coat to drying time). And there was no messy paint around the cuticles! However, the suggested lasting time for these is a joke. I had some wear and minor chipping after only 1 day. But the prints are super cute. I think they’re great for a night out when you want something different but can’t be bothered with the fuss and mess of doing your own nails, but I won’t be throwing out my traditional polishes yet. I’d have to buy one of these sets every couple days, which makes them pretty dear. The full range is harder to get your hands on in the UK, but try ebay or the suggested links below.

Check out this hounds tooth print – awesome, no? I heard Hannah from Pretty Little Liars wore these in an episode. I’m not gonna lie – that’s partly why I bought them.

The Skinny: Great prints, easy once you get the hang of it, and no mess! Lasting power is poor, though, so that means they’re not cheap if used regularly. They’re more suited for a special day or night out.

Cost:

UK: from £9.39 from Amazon or some are available for £7.94 from Asda

USA: $8.99 from Ulta

Rating: 3/5

