Formulated without: Parabens, sulfates, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs and triclosan

Product Description: Combines the texture and shine of a gloss with the long-wear of a stain.

My Experience: YSL is quickly becoming my new best friend. I’d been searching for a stain for some time. I like wearing red lipstick, but it’s so unforgiving; I hate the vigilant maintenance required to keep it looking fresh and perfect throughout the day. So, I researched some stains, which are meant to provide better lasting power than normal lipsticks and glosses. Most of them seem to be afflicted with the terrible curse of dryness, though, and flakiness does not a lovely red lip make. And then along came YSL with their Glossy Stain formula, hitting the ball straight out of the park. The texture is thin and glossy. Application is smooth and simple. Some have bemoaned the slanted doe-foot type applicator, but I find it works well and I love that the pointed tip can be used for a more precise line. The stain feels very lightweight and comfortable and stays that way because it sets quickly. This photo shows one layer. A second layer darkens the color and amps up the shine for a more dramatic lip. Lasting power is great. I wore this to an all-day food festival where I knew I’d be eating and drinking throughout the day and it held up excellently. I only had to reapply once or twice, and even then only slight touch ups were needed. I desperately wanted one of the bright red colors, but those were completely sold out at the Sephora I visited. I don’t regret buying this color though. It’s deep and rosy and probably more versatile. I want to get more of these though. Hell, I’d buy the whole collection right now if they weren’t so pricey.

What do you think? Have you tried any of the neutral or bright shades? Comment below – I’d love to know what you think!

The Skinny: The best of both worlds – a long-lasting, pigmented stain with the texture and shine of a gloss. The best lip stain out there right now.

Cost:

UK: £22.50 from House of Fraser

USA: $32 from Sephora

Rating: HERO (goes above and beyond expectations)

