Ingredients: African red tea, ester C 10% vitamin C complex, polylysine, hyaluronic acid, macadamia nut oil and zinc, copper and manganese gluconate

Skin Type: All

Product Description: An anti-aging moisturizer that hydrates, lifts and protects dry skin.

My Experience: I was dying to try some Ole Henriksen products because of the hype. The brand prides itself on fusing science with nature to create products that ‘treat the face and body while helping to achieve overall health and wellness’. The blend of ingredients sounded so intriguing and what can I say, I’m a sucker for something new. But I was terribly disappointed by this moisturizer. I like Ole Henriksen packaging. The bright striped labels on the jars are somehow both cheerful and clinical, and they proudly state the main ingredients on the front. Sadly, that’s the best part of this product. Unscrewing the lid is dramatically disappointing for the senses. Considering the ingredients, I expected an exotic scent or, at the very least, something pleasant. Instead, the smell of cheap, synthetic candy slapped me in the face. I’m not particularly fond of synthetically sweet scents anyway, but this smells like those awful candy necklaces from the 80s, but in horrific concentrated form and crammed into a little jar. It actually offends my nose. I also despise the look and texture of it. It’s an unsavory grayish beige, and the texture is thick and almost tacky. It’s heavy and leaves the skin feeling greasy after application. Eventually, my skin does feel softer and I feel that is this product’s only virtue. The sad thing is I’ve used it several times now, but because of its heaviness I only use it at night. And why do I continue to use this? I paid £57 for it. I intend to use it up and then chuck the empty jar into the nether regions of my trash can.

The Skinny: An expensive cream that is heavy, greasy and reeks of cheap candy. Save your pennies for better stuff.

Cost:

UK: £57 from lookfantastic

USA: $65 from Sephora

Rating: 1/5

