Ingredients: Soja seed extract, Brazilian murumuru butter and chamomile flower oil

Product Description: Lipstick with an ultra-creamy texture, an incredibly smooth application and just the right balance of luminosity through specially treated color pigments blended to deliver pure color.

My Experience: When I bought this lipstick, I loved it. I still really like it, but I’m not in love with it anymore. I was desperate to try a Tom Ford lipstick last fall. I marched up to the counter in Selfridges and told the sales assistant that I wanted a lipstick that was on trend and versatile. He promptly selected the shade flamingo, a bright pink with a hint of purple. I was a little apprehensive about the brightness, but he won me over by explaining that it could be dabbed on for a softer look or layered for a dramatic effect. And it really is a beautiful color and versatile color. You can create a fresh pink stain for day by using your finger, or layer it for a deeper, brighter effect. It’s very pigmented so a little goes a long way. On its own it has a light sheen; if I wear a balm under it, it’s patent leather shiny. It feels smooth and comfortable on the lips and has great lasting power. I’ve worn this out and been asked what lipstick I’m wearing, so it’s definitely an eye catcher. The packaging, as with all Tom Ford products, is immaculately chic. The tube has weight to it,  and the design is understated elegance. It shouts: ‘I know I’m good without having to show off’. So why don’t I love this anymore? First of all, I bought it last season and trends have moved on a bit. Second, since I bought the YSL Rouge Volupte lipstick in Extreme Coral, the Tom Ford formula has lost some of its lustre. It’s just not as butter soft and creamy. That sounds harsh, because this is a great lipstick, but it just feels ever so slightly waxy compared to my YSL lipstick. And as much as I’m a Tom Ford fan, this lipstick cost me £36, whereas the YSL Rouge Volupte lipstick cost me £23.50.

The Skinny: A beautiful, versatile and long wearing lipstick. The only downside is the price and slightly waxy texture compared to the stellar YSL Rouge Volupte range.

Cost:

UK: £36 from Selfridges

USA: $48 from Nordstrom

Rating: 4/5

