Ingredients: Amazonian clay, mineral pigments (colors and dyes derived from natural minerals have been known to soothe and soften the skin), Vitamin A, Vitamin E and water. Full ingredient list available here.

Color: Fair

Formulated without: mineral oil, paraben, phthalates and sodium lauryl sulfate

Cruelty free

Product Description: Provides waterproof, full coverage whilst balancing, calming and soothing the skin.

My Experience: I’m a bit fussy when it comes to concealers. I haven’t used many in my life and I can only think of two I’ve used recently: MAC’s Select Moisturecover (which was a nice consistency but seemed so watery sheer that it didn’t really cover much) and MAC’s Studio Finish SPF 35 Concealer (this gets so many rave reviews but I found the formula dry and difficult to blend). Both of these concealers nestled into creases. I did some research on Makeupalley and Tarte’s concealers get good reviews, so I picked one up in Ulta the last time I was in the USA. I chose the Fair shade, which I think suits my NC20 skin quite well. As you can see from the picture, it’s a stick concealer but it’s very creamy and pigmented. It glides across the skin and melts in very quickly. It’s designed to be used with your fingertips instead of a brush; I find it works equally well with both. It beats MAC’s Studio Finish in terms of coverage, which means that coverage is very good indeed. It’s been my saving grace throughout my little spurt of chin acne. I needed more coverage than usual for the dark, angry spots and whilst they didn’t totally disappear, they were greatly minimized and lightened so most people probably couldn’t tell my skin was misbehaving. I love the texture of this concealer: it’s buttery smooth and silky, and it’s the only concealer I’ve ever used that provides good coverage and doesn’t look cakey or dry. It lasts all day and I swear when I remove it my blemishes look less red, as if it’s been nourishing my skin. It’s an expensive concealer compared to MAC’s Studio Finish, but it’s better and contains some wonderful ingredients.

The Skinny: A nourishing, long-lasting concealer that provides good coverage without being cakey or dry.

Cost:

UK: Tarte is currently unavailable in the UK (sorry!). Try Ebay or Amazon.

USA: $22 from Sephora

Rating: 4/5

