Ingredients: (1-2): Talc, Silica, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Ethylene/Methacrylate Copolymer, Zeolite, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Sorbic Acid, Methylparaben Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben Tetrasodium EDTA, Butylparaben, Orchis Maculata Flower Extract, BHT. +/- [May Contain]: MICA (CI 77019), Titanium dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Ferric Ferrocyanide (CI 77510), Carmine (CI 75470), Ultramarines (CI 77007), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 6 (CI 15850), Red 30 (CI 73360), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140) and Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985).

Color: No. 2

Product Description: A powder that lightens, brightens and maximizes wear and coverage without settling into fine lines or accentuating shadows.

My Experience: I bought this a while ago and I use it a lot. I was not previously a fan of setting powders because I often found they looked cakey or dusty on my skin. But I was at the Laura Mercier counter and intrigued by the word ‘brightening’ because I always want my skin to look brighter, more fresh, more glowing. The instructions advise you to use this only in this eye area and never for the entire face as it contains white pigment. But hey, I like to play around with makeup and I pretty much always use this all over my face, although more sparingly in some areas. It’s finely milled so it doesn’t settle into lines or look like powder on my face. But I think the real magic of this powder is that it really does give a brightening effect that is both subtle yet noticeable. It lightens all the right places and makes my skin look better than it is. The packaging is quite straightforward as you’d expect from a powder – the container has a screw-top lid and sifter within. If you want a quality powder that gives your skin a boost, try this. But it’s not a holy grail for me. I’m becoming more interested in products that do everything at once. I think the ideal powder should have SPF, set makeup, control oil and blend into the skin without looking like someone has blasted you with powdered sugar. So, whilst I do like this powder, I’m afraid it doesn’t tick enough boxes for me to repurchase it on a regular basis. However, if you don’t have a problem with oily areas and don’t mind the lack of SPF, this could be a wonderful powder for you.

The Skinny: A finely-milled powder that brightens the skin and sets makeup without settling into fine lines or looking dusty.

Cost:

UK: £18.50 from John Lewis

USA: $22 from Sephora

Rating: 4/5

