Ingredients: INGREDIENTS: POLYBUTENE, OCTYLDODECANOL, PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAISOSTEARATE, SILICA, ETHYLHEXYL PALMITATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, LINALOOL, LIMONENE, ALPHA-ISOMETHYL IONONE, BENZYL ALCOHOL, BHT, PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) [+/-MAY CONTAIN: CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE), CI 77491 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77492 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77499 (IRON OXIDES), CI 75470 (CARMINE), CI 45380 (RED 22 LAKE), CI 45410 (RED 28 LAKE), CI 77742 (MANGANESE VIOLET), CI 12085 (RED 36), CI 42090 (BLUE 1 LAKE), CI 16035 (RED 40 LAKE), CI 19140 (YELLOW 5 LAKE), CI 15850 (RED 7 LAKE), MICA] [NON-USA SHADES +/-: CI 77007, CI 77288, CI 77289, CI 77000].

Color: Bright orange coral.

Product Description: A high shine and rich color gloss that’s non-sticky.

My Experience: I was dying to try an Illamasqua product, so I snapped this up from the Debenhams sale. And when it arrived and I pulled this shockingly bright coral out of the box, I got very excited. I got even more excited when I pulled off the cap, squeezed the tube and watched the product bolt up into the plastic tip. Yes, I’m easily amused. The packaging is uber chic: sleek and skinny, understated yet elegant. And the color is gorgeous. It’s blushing, blooming youth in a tube. It reminds me of bright fields of spring flowers. I love the color so much I wear it even though I dislike the consistency. It’s certainly a liquid lipstick, and I think that’s the problem. I find it difficult to apply. It’s very thick. I need to apply many careful layers to get even coverage. I don’t think the plastic applicator helps – it sort of just smears the color around in streaks. Because it’s so thick, it feels very heavy and cakey on the lips. Also, you must exfoliate before using this. It catches on every bit of dry skin and that’s the antithesis of the youthful, juicy look you want. It doesn’t wear particularly well, either. It cakes into lip lines, dries out and begins to feel tight in less than half an hour. Frequent touch ups are needed to keep it looking fresh. And yet I keep dealing with these problems because I love the color so much. I’m disappointed in the formula, not the shade. I’m a little confused about the packaging. Both Sephora and Debenhams show it as having a wand and brush applicator, and yet mine is a squeeze tube. I wonder if a brush would make a difference to how the gloss applies.

The Skinny: A bright, luscious coral that’s youth in a tube. However, the formula is a hot mess: it’s thick, streaky, dries out quickly and feels cakey on the lips.

Cost: 

UK: £5.99 from Debenhams (originally £13, if you hurry you can still get it on sale)

USA: $20 from Sephora

Rating: 2/5

