Ingredients: Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Bis Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate 2, Squalane, Bis Behenyl/Isostearyl/Phytosteryl Dimer Dilinoleyl Dilinoleate, Polyethylene, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Triisostearin, Diisostearyl Malate, Cera Microcrystallina (Microcrystalline Wax), Trimethylolpropane Triethylhexanoate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Polyalmide 3, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Pentaerylthrityl Tetra Di Butyl Hydroxyhdrocinnamate, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil (Mentha Peperita Oil), Limonene, Sorbic Acid, May Contain (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 6 (CI 15850), Orange 5 (CI 45370), Red 21 (CI 45380), Red 33 (CI 17200), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Manganese Violet (CI 77742)

Color: Romantic

Product Description: “a pampering balm fused with a lightweight lipstain in an adorable chubby crayon”.

My Experience: I was drifting around the makeup aisles in Boots and stumbled upon the Revlon Just Bitten line. There’s been much love for Clinique’s Chubby Sticks, which I’ve not used, so I was quite intrigued by Revlon’s version. Also, I like the name. I’m such a sucker for good marketing. There were seven shades to choose from, but I was underwhelmed by the selection. Darling, Cherish and Lovesick were either too cool or purple-ish, Rendezvous was a bit too orange and Crush a bit too brown. I chose Romantic, the only red on offer, and Honey, which I will review in another post. To be honest, I think the star of the collection is Romantic, which is probably why it was the only one that was sold out (I managed to get it from another shop). And it’s a nice product. It goes on smoothly, evenly and it’s easy to use. I had to apply several layers to get the pigmentation you see in the above picture, but I liked the effect. It’s a very fresh, cheek-pinched flush of red. It reminds me of brisk winter mornings. It has a small amount of shine and you can blot it down for a more subtle, rosy red. It feels good on the lips, light and comfortable. I wore this whilst eating lunch. Although the shine and brightness disappeared, a rosy stain remained. My lips felt slightly dry after a while, though, so I would be tempted to pop a balm over this after  a couple of hours, or at least reapply. I think this is a pretty good product. It’s a practical and versatile combination of balm and stain. I also like that more product twists up out of the stick, so you don’t have to worry about sharpening it or wasting any. But I’m not in love. It just doesn’t have the hydration, lasting power or richness of color that some more expensive stains have, or that the Revlon Lip Butters have. And I wish there were more shades to choose from (there are currently twice as many shades available in the USA). But that’s quibbling, it’s a pretty good product for the price.

The Skinny: A decent, reasonably priced stain and balm combo.

Cost:

UK:

£5.99 from Boots

USA:

$8.99 from Ulta

Rating: 3/5

