Ingredients: Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Squalane, Bis-Behenyl/Isostearyl/Phytosteryl Dimer Dilinoleyl Dimer Dilinoleate, Polyethylene, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Triisostearin, Diisostearyl Malate, Cera Microcrystallina ((Microcrystalline Wax) Cire Microcristalline), Trimethylolpropane Triethylhexanoate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Polyamide-3, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Mentha Piperita ((Peppermint) Oil (Mentha Piperita Oil), Limonene, Sorbic Acid. May Contain: [Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 27 (CI 45410), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 6 (CI 15850), Orange 5 (CI 45370), Red 21 (CI 45380), Red 33 (CI 17200), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Manganese Violet (CI 77742)].

Color: Honey

Product Description: “It’s a pampering balm fused with a lightweight lipstain in an adorable chubby crayon”.

My Experience: To give this product a fair go, I bought both a neutral and bright shade a few weeks ago. Honey is the neutral shade. It’s a soft pink with a touch of brown. It swatches darker on my hand than it looks on my lips, but my lips are quite pigmented so it would pack more of a punch on someone with paler lips. It glides on easily. I have to really pile this on to get the color payoff I want, but the texture is silky smooth and it feels comfortably light on my lips. It smells of mint, which I’m not fond of, but it’s relatively subtle so that’s a minor quibble. It lasts a few hours untouched, but after a meal it’s patchy and needs reapplied. Romantic held up much better after eating. I love the chubby, sleek design, as well as the ease of twisting more product out. I want to love this color, but I just don’t. It’s just too similar to my own lip coloring and a bit flat. There’s nothing special about it. I think the balm stains are a great concept, but the formulas and colors aren’t stellar enough for me to repurchase any more. The Lip Butters don’t have the same staying power, but I adore them infinitely more for their creamy, dreamy textures and superior range of shades. I bet everyone could find at least one Lip Butter they love. I wouldn’t say that about the Just Bitten Balm Stains. If you’re dying to try these, go for Romantic. It has better lasting power, and the red is fresh and flattering: it’s the best of the bunch.

The Skinny: A fair balm and stain combo, but the shade is rather dull and the lasting power isn’t as good as some of the other shades in the collection, such as Romantic.

Cost:

UK: £7.99 from Boots

USA: $8.99 from Ulta

Rating: 2/5

