DSCN1504Ingredients: Talc, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Nylon-12, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Magnesium Stearate, Pentylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Dimyristate, Phenoxyethanol, Bisbehenyl/Isostearyl/Phytosteryl Dimer Dilinoleyl Dimer Dilinoleater, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Sorbic Acid, Tin Oxide, Tocopherol [+/- Mica, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), etc.

Product Description: “This precious quartet, 500 Les Ombres Turandot, showcases a subtle monochrome palette for vibrant and refined eye make-up. The interplay of textures and colours allows you to effortlessly adapt the make-up result, from a radiant morning to enigmatic nights.”

Shades: Two matte (Rose Satine and Prune Aubergine) and two iridescent (Dore Clair and Beige Mordore).

DSCN1505My Experience: Since I’ve started my MA, the purse strings have been very tightly drawn. I could afford only one eyeshadow palette this winter, and I carefully researched the holiday collections to narrow down my choice. It was down to this palette and Chanel’s holiday palette and price determined the winner: Guerlain’s palette was cheaper by several pounds. And I’m so pleased that I chose this one. The beauty of this palette is swoon-worthy. First of all, the packaging is gold and sleek and bears the weight of quality. Second, the eyeshadows blend like butter and are eye-catching yet flattering. Rose Satine is a rosy, dusky pink and Prune Aubergine is a plummy brown. Rose Satine is meant to be matte but I would say the finish has a slight satin sheen to it. The golden shade has a touch of orange to it so it’s warmer than most golds, which makes it quite unique. Combined with Rose Satine, it’s like a wash of sumptuous sunset over the eyelids. These colors are vibrant but not garish, and compliment each other wonderfully. The shimmery brown shade is deep and rich, and a perfect color to vamp up the eyes for night. This is a warm-toned palette of unique and top quality shades and textures. There is only one thing that would have made it holy grail for me, and that’s the inclusion of a suitable highlight shade. But, really, I don’t even care because I love this palette so much. Thank you, Guerlain, for a marvellous palette.

The Skinny: A top-notch eyeshadow palette with a mix of matte and shimmery shades that compliment each other beautifully. This is quality from head to toe. Love it.

Cost:DSCN1495

UK: £37 – I purchased mine from Debenhams a few weeks ago but it appears to be sold out. Keep checking back and you might be able to get your hands on it.

USA: $59 – I’m having trouble finding this only a few weeks after I bought it! I’ve seen it lurking on Ebay, though. Keep your eyes peeled and you might get lucky! Otherwise, have a look at the other lovely palettes in the range.

Rating: 5/5

