It’s been a while, I know. I’m sorry. There are several reasons for this, the most relevant being my masters degree, which has been relentlessly kicking my ass. I come bearing a peace offering gift in the form of a new review =)

Behold, Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream!

2013-06-19 09.48.08

Ingredients: Glycerin, Water, Isopropyl Myristate, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Triethanolamine, Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E), Glycyrrhetinic Acid, Camphor, Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Hydrogenated Coco-glycerides, Stearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 80, EDTA, Methylparaben, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Sodium Hyajuronate.

Product Description: “Concentrated glycerin moisturizer (enriched with Vitamins B2, C & E) helps hydrate, soothe and smooth rough, dry and extremely dry skin. Non-greasy formula absorbs instantly and stays locked in for hours. ‘A little dab goes a long way’.”

My Experience: I was terribly unhappy with the state of my skin over the winter. It was dry, more bumpy than usual and more sensitive than usual. There was flakiness across my forehead and around my nose that laughed in the face of exfoliators and creams. And my makeup looked cakey and dry. Yum. Anyway, I was desperately in need of a heavy duty moisturizer and I didn’t want to spend a lot of money. Also, it’s been my obsession for a few months now to find skincare products that aren’t expensive and contain several good key ingredients. This moisturizer ticks all those boxes. It’s a balm, not a cream, so it squeezes out thick like Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream. It’s yellow, which is odd for a moisturizer, but it doesn’t disturb me. I put a small blob of this on my forehead, cheeks and chin and spend a couple minutes massaging it in. It responds well to the heat of your hands and blends easily after a few seconds. And my skin sucks this up within minutes. It’s not heavy. It leaves my skin feeling soft and dewy without being sticky or greasy. Now, the smell. It’s not a great smell. I think Sam of the Pixiwoo sisters got it right on when she said it smells like Vicks. This is true, but it’s not a deal breaker. The smell dissipates quickly after you’ve rubbed it in and I like the results and the price well enough to put up with it. My skin is a lot happier now that I’ve been using this twice a day. It’s softer, smoother and I can feel the moisture in my skin hours after I’ve applied it. Plus it’s tamed my flakiest areas and now my makeup glides on. This stuff is no frills – it’s one of those basic multi-purpose gems that can be used for the whole family and on an array of dry areas including lips, hands, feet and cuticles. And a 33g tube has lasted me 2 months and going, which is more than I can say for some high-end 50g pots I’ve used in the past. I’m turning with the tide. Maybe basic really is better.

The Skinny: A great multi-purpose moisturizer that’s safe for the whole family to use and treats dry skin all over the body. It sinks in fast, quenches thirsty skin and contains some great ingredients. The smell could be off-putting for some, but it’s such a good product I’m happy to put up with it.

Cost:

USA: $16 for 1.25 oz, $25 for 2.5 oz from Sephora

UK: £12.50 for 33g, £19.50 for 70g from Cult Beauty

Rating: 5/5

